Because she’s one of our favorite authors, we are very happy to have Raine Thomas’ blog tour stop by today

to introduce her new book….


This is the second book in her Firstborn trilogy and the adventures continue!  Check out Ana’s review of Defy, the first book in this series, here!

Title:  Shift

Series:  Firstborn Trilogy

Author:  Raine Thomas

Published:  August 24, 2012

Having the ability to shapeshift, Sophia is familiar with change. But even she feels the rising tension in her homeland.

A shadowy male and deadly beast reside in their midst. The births of the newest Kynzesti loom. Hostile Mercesti continue to hunt for the Elder Scroll, and a traumatized female is too afraid to use her abilities to stop them.

Topping off Sophia’s stress is Quincy, the male she’s convinced can’t stand her. She rues the loss of their friendship, but can’t figure out how to move past it. She’ll soon learn, however, that mending that rift bears more significance than she ever imagined.

The search for the Elder Scroll takes on unexpected urgency, and Sophia finds herself in a race across the mainland. To stop the Mercesti led by Eirik, she and her companions must get past their differences and unite against them. If they don’t, Eirik will acquire the immense power he seeks, and two of the beings Sophia loves most will die.

Check out the the Shift book trailer here!

Get to know Raine on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads and Pintrest!

Ana will put Shift on her top shelf!

My Review:  What?  That’s the end? *click forward…click forward…click back*  Yup…my kindle does not lie…that’s the end.  Dear Raine…really?!?  My heart was beating, my anticipation to see  what happens next was great…and you end the book right there?  Well, OK! I guess you know what you’re doing…I’ll just have to wait for the next one!  In the meantime, I’ll let everyone know that I loved this book!  It had even more adventure that the one before, more character growth, more bad guys, more twists and turns, and more romance!  Can’t really ask for more than that!

The story revolves around Sophia, daughter of my two favorite characters in the Daughters of Saraqael series, James and Olivia, and how her desire to do the right thing for her family helps her realize her own strength.  She learns so much about herself in this story, both about her past and her abilities, and it shapes how she handles the challenges put before her.

As I think back to Central (review here), I see some of Olivia’s characteristics in Sophia.  Neither of them is the strongest of the bunch and both question their abilities at first.  But, they also share their tenacity and, ultimately, their unwavering desire to do the right thing and protect those they love.  Speaking of love, Quincy is such a great character.  He’s experienced so much in his life and is so strong as the resident “doctor” in the Estilorian plane, yet he has a naivety about him that’s completely endearing!  Now, in truth, I wanted to talk some sense into both Quincy and Sophia early on but, as it turns out, they figured it out themselves…and that made me happy.

Even though Sophia and Quincy are meant to be the main characters in this book, this is truly an ensemble piece.  Several story lines and characters play prominent roles in the adventure to find the Elder Scroll before the cunning Mercesti Eirik and Metis.  Zachariah and Tate (whose romance heats up even as the danger they find themselves in increases), Tiege and Ariana, the elders and someone who surprised me with his appearance all enhance the story and pull the reader into the story from the very beginning.  The creativity that’s gone into making the Estilorian plane crystal clear and characters vivid and endearing makes this series a wonderful read!  I’m definitely looking forward to the next installment in this series!

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!  Click on the rafflecopter image below (it will open in a new window) and enter to win.  This giveaway in open to US and Canadian residents only!  Good Luck!

Please follow/like us & share:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *