September 9, 2015

Title: Bad Romance
Author: Jen McLaughlin
Series: A Stepbrother Novel
Publisher: Loveswept (Random House)
Published: September 15, 2015
Genre: new adult contemporary romance

Synopsis: In this explosive novel from bestselling author Jen McLaughlin, a good girl falls for the ultimate bad boy: her stepbrother. Perfect for fans of Sabrina Paige, Caitlin Daire, and Krista Lakes, Bad Romance proves that passion can be so wrong it’s right.

Seven years in the army will change a guy. But after a shoulder wound ends his career as a sniper, Jackson Worthington finds himself back home, fighting a battle that’s all too familiar: keeping his hands off Lily Hastings. She’s still her rich daddy’s little angel, innocent, impossibly lovely, as squeaky-clean as Jackson is dirty. And she’s still his stepsister—forbidden but not forgotten, not after the soul-melting kiss that got him kicked out of the house at eighteen. He couldn’t resist her then. How the hell can he resist her now?

Lily is about to marry a man she doesn’t love, and commit to a high-stress job she hates, all to please the father who controls every waking moment of her life. On top of everything, her teenage crush is back, with a sleek, chiseled body and a trace of the rebellious boy whose lips sealed her fate. Jackson’s timing couldn’t be worse . . . or better. Because Lily’s all grown up, too. She’s aching for another taste. And for the first time, she’s ready to be a bad girl.

**I received an advance copy from the publisher,
but that did not influence the review**

4 hot and holy chemistry stars Oh my friends, it’s been a while since I’ve read a Jen McLaughlin book and it was just what I needed. First of all, look at that cover. No worries, I’ll be here waiting while you scroll back up and gaze at it. Yum. That guy is delicious and exactly Jackson Worthington to me. So I’m more than ok admitting the smexy cover hooked me. Next I read the synopsis…a military guy and a romance with lots of angst and sexy time? Sign. Me. Up.

I dove right into this and somehow got to glancing at a few reviews. So many of them talk about the issue of Jackson and Lilly being step-siblings. It wasn’t taboo for me. They didn’t grow up together. They aren’t related. I thought that was what was going to hold the two of them back, but it wasn’t. It came up quite a lot, but that wasn’t the real reason they had to fight to be together. You’ll have to read the book yourself to find out what obstacles were in their path!

But let’s talk heroes. Oh my, Jackson is delicious. Brave. A little broken. Brooding. And hot as f*ck heck. He is also kind and protective, and Lilly knows exactly how to draw that out of him.

Lilly is sweet, kind, and ready to sacrifice her own happiness. She was sometimes spunky, but not all the time. I think Jackson helped her realize that she needed to stay true to herself.  I liked Lilly most of the book…but the last 25% I kind of wanted to strangle her. She wasn’t thinking of Jackson at all and she was starting to break his heart. All of a sudden I was getting protective over Jackson! I would have sold out her father in 2 seconds flat and made those guys figure something out…but I wasn’t Lilly and I had to let her come to realizations on her own.

The romance is smoking hot. Like holy crap on a cracker it was on fire. I won’t spoil anything, but Ms. McLaughlin knows how to write steamy chemistry and love scenes. Thank you, Jen!

The ending was great, a total HEA. I think the whole other part that Lilly let Jackson in on at the end was unnecessary and could have been cut out…they were young and there was plenty of time for “that”, but hey, I got my HEA so it really was all good.

Rec this? Absolutely yes! If you love an angsty, really well written romance with characters that come to life. this is a great add for your TBR.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *