June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.

  Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.  

Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han. 

Quick Thoughts and Rating: 4 stars! Before I started this book, I said I was in the mood for something cute and fluffy, and that’s pretty much exactly what this one delivered. Swoony moments, laugh-out-loud dialogue, and interesting characters made it a novel that I enjoyed from start to finish.

This is the tale of a boy and a girl who started out with opposing opinions about everything, but once they dug a little deeper than surface value, stood to learn a lot more about each other and themselves. Packed with heart and a bigger understanding of how even the smallest teenage moments can and will be some of the grandest in your life, Shuffle, Repeat fully captured the true essence of a time of great discovery and change in every young adult’s life.

♥ Review: I truly feel like the biggest part of my adoration of this title came with it being the perfect warm, fuzzy title (with a little high school angst, naturally) at the right time. I knew what I was in the mood for, and luckily enough for me and the review of this book, it fell at the perfect review space opportunity for me to jump on it. For the most part, this title stayed well within the realm of light-hearted and minimal emotional fretting, and I appreciated that. I liked that both characters were constantly surprised by one another, that there was more to each person than what you see at face value. Exploring that and the thread of what all this, this meaning high school years, signifies in the larger scheme of life was fun, but also deep and meaningful, too.

I also believe that I enjoyed this book because it felt familiar. While reading, I saw so much of who my husband and I were (and still are, for the most part) in high school. We were best friends (still are, fyi) but we’re also crazy opposites and competitive about everything, which is kind of exactly how June and Oliver are; but, of course, it didn’t start out that way. While their moms had been lifelong friends, June and Oliver’s social circles never included one another. However, at the start of senior year and a house change, it’s arranged by the moms for Oliver to pick up June for school every day. In the beginning, their interactions were so comical, bordering on icy, and their banter was definitely entertaining. But over the course of the school year, they start to go a little deeper than their arguing over superficial things and really learn about one another. A friendship forms—a true one—because both characters are already in relationships with other people. I definitely liked this aspect at times because that boundary allowed them to explore the depths of each other’s character without insta-love muddying the picture, but once those feelings started to develop, I was waiting for the eventual breakups because you just knew that because of the chemistry between June and Oliver, a chemistry that other people were starting to notice as well, that they were meant to be together.

As far as characters go, I think Klein did a wonderful job of capturing an eclectic group of high school teenagers. She managed to incorporate all of the major cliques and varying personalities, but I also appreciated her diversity within each group and how even though there were social factions like you’ll find in any high school, that there was some cohesion between them, too. I feel like the author excelled with some of the secondary characters, like June’s best friend, Shaun, but I would have loved a little more depth and insight into others. While Theo and Itch were given moments of more clarity into why they were the way they were, I felt like others, especially the parents of both June and Oliver, lacked the dimension I need from them to connect with their character better, and that was were some of my rating fell off. As for our main guy and gal, I really, genuinely liked them; though, June took a little more time to grow on me because she felt a little too judgeypants to me in the beginning. That, said I felt like I truly knew who they were but was constantly discovering new layers of them as the story progressed. Furthermore, particularly in June’s case, I liked seeing who they had become by the end of the novel. Their development, both as a couple and as individuals, felt very natural and ever-evolving without coming off as too predictable.

Overall, this is a novel that I felt glad to have read and one that I may even come back to when I need a good pick-me-up.

♥ Teaser Quote: There are many snarky exchanges or comical one-liners or swoony lines that I can put here, but I think I’ll choose the one that I’ll reflect on the most when I think about this book instead.

     He’s smiling that blinding smile down into my eyes. “It’s another one of those moments,” he says.
     “Which moment?” I ask, even though I think I know the answer.
     “The one where I kiss you.”
     “I’m pretty sure you’re right,” I answer, my heart speeding up. I want him to kiss me so bad, but I’m also a little terrified of it—of how it’s going to make me feel. “We haven’t had any tequila. . . .”
     “Good,” he says, and then his mouth is on mine. I was right to be terrified, because Oliver Flagg’s kiss destroys the entire world. Everything around us drops away, and all I know is the feel and taste of him. I don’t care who’s looking or who’s surprised or what administrative official could run up and tell us to knock off the public display of affection. Oliver is everything, and it’s even better than when we were on the hood of the behemoth, because this time I’m not pretending about anything. This time, I’m just me. With him.
     And it’s so real.
– quote taken from Shuffle, Repeat, pg. 315

Book Rating Breakdown
Cover
Writing
Characters
Plot
Pacing
Swoons
General Book Feels
Cute, Fuzzies, Flutters
Angst Me So Good
Overall:

♥ Rec It? Yes! I think this is a wonderful title for the start of a brand new school year. I predict teens will find a bit of themselves in one or a combination of all of the characters, and adults will do well to reminisce on the years of their youth when everything felt so final—the bookend to our high school careers—and scarily new, heading out in to the big, wide world and no longer being the big fish in the little pond.

♥ A very special thanks to Random House for providing me with a finished copy of this title.

*Disclaimer: A finished copy of this title was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be from the hardcover edition.

Full of giggles, flails, snark and Southern endearments. Avid Reader. Lover of swoony boys, kickass heroines, yummy kissing scenes, and pretty prose.

I like to draw hearts in the sky (eternal optimist) and wish on stars (forever dreamer). Documentaries, sweet tea, sleep, and brightly colored knee-socks are a few of my favorite things. ♥

Please follow/like us & share:

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *