{ARC REVIEW} The Hidden Memory of Objects by Danielle Mages Amato

{ARC REVIEW} The Hidden Memory of Objects by Danielle Mages AmatoThe Hidden Memory of Objects by Danielle Mages Amato
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: March 21st 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 336
Format: e-ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Goodreads

If I Stay meets House of Cards in this emotional and thrilling contemporary debut with a speculative twist. Perfect for readers who loved Cynthia Hand's The Last Time We Say Goodbye or Lauren Myracle's Shine.

Megan Brown’s brother, Tyler, is dead, but the cops are killing him all over again. They say he died of a drug overdose, potentially suicide—something Megan cannot accept. Determined to figure out what happened in the months before Tyler’s death, Megan turns to the things he left behind. After all, she understands the stories objects can tell—at fifteen, she is a gifted collage artist with a flair for creating found-object pieces. However, she now realizes that her artistic talent has developed into something more: she can see memories attached to some of Tyler’s belongings—and those memories reveal a brother she never knew.

Enlisting the help of an artifact detective who shares her ability and specializes in murderabilia—objects tainted by violence or the deaths of their owners—Megan finds herself drawn into a world of painful personal and national memories. Along with a trusted classmate and her brother's charming friend, she chases down the troubling truth about Tyler across Washington, DC, while reclaiming her own stifled identity with a vengeance.

Quick Thoughts and Rating: 4 stars! Great characters and an intriguing plot made this book a quick, fun read. With the small incorporation of several genres, I feel like this novel has a bit of something for everyone.

Divider

 Review: The Hidden Memory of Objects was an entertaining read that can be easily broken down into bullet points to highlight its greatest assets:

• 5-star-worthy characters bursting with personality and a heroine that I had little trouble rooting for because she was just so damn likable. Megan Brown’s narrative was great! Her two constant companions, three if you count her best girlfriend through text message conversations, were fantastic too! I loved them. All the characters were the greatest source of comedic relief throughout the somewhat angsty story, and I seriously loved all the pop culture and 80’s movie references.

• An original plot that grounded itself mostly on the contempary side with a girl struggling with the unexpected death of her brother, but touched on a sweet romance, history (more specifically on the Lincoln assassination), and a certain aspect that requires a suspension of disbelief because of its paranormal-esque elements.

• The mystery surrounding Megan’s brother’s death and her new “ability” for the lack of a better word definitely had me flying through the pages. When the climax came, I may have even gasped out loud because I certainly didn’t expect that!

I can’t really elaborate any further on these because we’d absolutely cross over into spoiler territory. This book was an experience, that’s for certain. My only real issue with it was the repetitive feel of certain scenarios and scenes during the second half, and I feel like that slowed the pacing down some. However, overall, I felt like it was a very solid, interesting book. I read it all in a few hours and I had trouble setting it down when real life called, so THMoO certainly has the readability factor working in its favor.

Divider

 Teaser Quote

    “Every object has a history.” He picked up a clear glass bowl from a side table. It was spun through with black threads, link ink spilled in water. He weighed it in his hand. “Someone made it. Someone packaged it, shipped it, sold it. Maybe someone used it for years, every day, before you ever owned it. Maybe not.” He put the bowl back down. “Most of the time, that history is invisible to us. Or we don’t care. But sometimes, history gives the most ordinary objects special meaning. They become not just eyeglasses, but Benjamin Franklin’s eyeglasses. Thomas Jefferson’s Bible. The flag that covered Abraham Lincoln’s coffin. They connect us to people and moments from the past, and we hunger for that connection.” He shrugged. “Of course, an object doesn’t have to be worthy of a museum to have a history. And some histories are more painful than others.” He stood. “Do you want to try an experiment?”

– quote taken from the eARC of The Hidden Memory of Objects at 35%

Divider

Book Rating Breakdown
Cover
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Writing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Characters
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Plot
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Pacing
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
General Book Feels
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

 Rec It? Sure! Like I stated previously, you’d have to suspend disbelief about a few things, but I think most readers would enjoy this book. I can honestly say that I’d read more work from this author in the future.

 A very special thanks to Balzer+Bray and Edelweiss for providing me with an advanced copy of this title.

*Disclaimer: An e-copy of this title was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition.

·

christina2227
Find me here

christina2227

Full of giggles, flails, snark and Southern endearments. Avid Reader. Lover of swoony boys, kickass heroines, yummy kissing scenes, and pretty prose.

I like to draw hearts in the sky (eternal optimist) and wish on stars (forever dreamer). Documentaries, sweet tea, sleep, and brightly colored knee-socks are a few of my favorite things. ♥
Find me here
Please follow/like us & share:
Facebook
Facebook
Pinterest
Pinterest
INSTAGRAM
Google+
Google+
https://thebookhookup.com/2017/03/17/arc-review-hidden-memory-objects-danielle-mages-amato/
RSS
Follow by Email
Divider

Posted March 17, 2017 by christina2227 in angst, ARC, Awesome Heriones, Contemporary, Edelweiss, Literal LOL Moments, Mystery/Suspense, Reviews, Stand Alone, Swoonworthy Book Boyfriends, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.

CommentLuv badge