On the Corner of Love and Hate (Hopeless Romantics, #1) by Nina Bocci
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: August 20, 2019
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 336
Format: e-ARC
Source: the author
Rating:

For fans of Christina Lauren and Lauren Layne comes a delightfully sassy and sexy romance about a campaign manager who reluctantly works with the local Lothario to help revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections, only to discover that he’s hiding something that can turn both their lives upside down.

What’s a campaign manager’s worst nightmare? A smooth-talking charmer who’s never met a scandal that he didn’t like.

When Emmanuelle Peroni’s father—and mayor of her town—asks her to help rehab Cooper Endicott’s image, she’s horrified. Cooper drives her crazy in every way possible. But he’s also her father’s protégé, and she can’t say no to him without him finding out the reason why: Cooper and her have a messy past. So Emmanuelle reluctantly launches her father’s grand plan to get this Casanova someone to settle down with and help him lose his lothario reputation.

Cooper Endicott wanted to run for Mayor, but he never wanted the drama that went with it. Now that he’s on the political hamster wheel, the other candidates are digging up everything from his past. Even though he’s doing all the right things, his colorful love life is the sticking point for many of the conservative voters. He wants to win, badly, and he knows that if he wants any chance of getting a vote from the female population, he needs to change his image. The only problem? He might just be falling in love with the one person he promised not to pursue: the Mayor’s off-limits daughter.

A perfect blend of humor and heart, On the Corner of Love and Hate is the first in a new series from USA TODAY bestselling author Nina Bocci.

*Note:  This book was provided to The Book Hookup by the author but that did not in any way influence this review!

This enemies to more story was a quick read that, unlike may others I’ve enjoyed lately, had real main character growth and fantastic secondary characters.  With both a small-town vibe and a slow-burn romance, this story had a sweet feel to it.  The two main characters, Emma and Cooper, have known each other forever and, over the years, have harbored secret desires and experienced heartbreak.  Working together, they’re forced into each others’ lives daily and this, of course, causes many opportunities for both uncomfortable situations and amazing opportunities.

When we first meet them, they’re much closer to enemies than friends and we can see why.  They work together and Cooper has not been fulfilling his responsibilities because he’s running for mayor, and he’s busy with his supposed womanizing.  This means  that Emma has taken on a larger workload, and is left to do some of his work, just to get things accomplished on time.  This introduction to Cooper made me question whether he was even worthy of Emma’s affections. And I must admit that it took me quite a while to warm up to him, which is very unusual for me.   However, I hung in there and eventually saw that their past, their snarky banter, and even his initial immaturity,  were all just bumps in the road for these two.  I would have loved to have seen some of this story from Cooper’s point of view so that I could understand him better.

There were many ups and downs in this story and the road to the happily ever after was quite long.  If you’re not a fan of drama and multiple misunderstandings this may not be the story for you.  But, if you like angst and the push and pull of friends to enemies, give it a try, you might find that Emma and Cooper’s journey is right up your alley.

Please follow/like us & share:

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *